Home / Internationals / Africa / Iwobi, Iheanacho in Nigeria squad for Egypt qualifiers

Iwobi, Iheanacho in Nigeria squad for Egypt qualifiers

Premier League starlets Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi have been included in Nigeria squad for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying double header against Egypt.

The Super Eagles trail their next opponents two points after the opening two fixtures and they will have a perfect opportunity to leapfrog them in the standings.

The two sides will first meet on 25 March in Kaduna, Nigeria, before they square off in Alexandria, Egypt, on 29 March.

After Sunday Oliseh resigned from the post a week ago, it was interim manager Samson Siasia that announced a 20-man squad for the Egypt games.

Premier League stars Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, Odion Ighalo and Victor Moses are all included, but Emanuel Emmenike and Vincent Enyeama have rejected a chance to come out of retirement.

The Arsenal youngster is set to make his first appearance for the Super Eagles after switching his allegiance from England.

Portland Timbers striker Fanendo Adi could also be handed his first cap, but important defender Leon Balogun has been overlooked.

Siasis has also invited a number of home-based players he coached in the Under-23 side, with Usman Mohammed, Azubike Okechukwu and Etebo Oghenekaro all included.

Nigeria squad (main):

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United);

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira), Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa), Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor), Efe Ambrose (Celtic), Staneley Amuzie (Olhanense);

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Lazio), John Mikel Obi (Chelsea), Azubuike Okechukwu (Yeni Malatyaspor), Victor Moses (West Ham United);

Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow); Moses Simon (KAA Gent), Odion Ighalo (Watford), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Fanendo Adi (Portland Timbers), Aminu Umar (Osmanlispor), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City).

Home-based players:

Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Femi Thomas, Austin Oboroakpo, Kalu Orji, Chibuzor Okonkwo, Etim Matthew, Sincere Seth, Segun Oduduwa, Chima Akas, Chris Madaki, Oke Ogagatewho, Ifeanyi Matthew, Usman Mohammed, Etebo Oghenekaro, Stanley Dimgba, Yau Hassan, Ezeikel Bassey, Prince Aggreh, Bright Onyedikachi, Chisom Chikatara, Godwin Obaje, Emmanuel Daniel.

About IST staff

IST employs a team of writers with an extensive experience in the gaming industry, who are passionate about football and ready to go the extra mile to provide our readers with inside information on top football clubs, players and national teams. We always ensure to only use reputable sources and we hope you will enjoy the content on our site.

Check Also

Herve Renard

Morocco to appoint Herve Renard as head coach

Royal Moroccan Football Federation (FRMF) have decided to part ways with Ezzaki Badou, who has ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>