Home / National Teams / Italy


About Italy National Team

Italian national football team has become famous for result-oriented football that usually produce excellent results at tournament finals. The Azzurri have four World Cup titles to their name, with the last of those won in Germany in 2006, while they have won the European Championship on one occasion, back in 1968. The national football team of Italt have never failed to qualify for World Cup finals, which is clearly an impressive record.

The Azzurri finished as runners up at the Euro 2012, losing to Spain in the final, but were then largely disappointing at the 2014 World Cup, crashing out in the group stage. Antonio Conte has since taken over the reigns and his squad appears to be a good blend of youth and experience, with the likes of Antonio Candreva, Leonardo Bonucci, Marco Vertatti and Claudio Marchisio some of the star names.

Important facts

Official website: http://www.figc.it/index.shtml
Nickname: Gli Azzurri
FIFA membership: since 1905
Head coach: Antonio Conte
Most capped player: Gianluigi Buffon (148)
Top goalscorer: Luigi Riva (35)
Trophies: World Cup (1934, 1938, 1982, 2006), Euro (1968)
World Cup best result: Champions (4 times)

Latest squad (Spain, Germany friendlies):

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Mattia Perin (Genoa), Salvatore Sirigu (Paris Saint-Germain);

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Sassuolo), Luca Antonelli (Milan), Davide Astori (Fiorentina), Andrea Barzagli (Juventus), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Matteo Darmian (Manchester United), Lorenzo de Silvestri (Sampdoria), Andrea Ranocchia (Inter Milan);

Midfielders: Alessandro Florenzi (Roma), Emanuele Giaccherini (Bologna), Jorginho (Napoli), Riccardo Montolivo (Milan), Thiago Motta (Paris Saint-Germain), Marco Parolo (Lazio), Roberto Soriano (Sampdoria), Marco Verratti (Paris Saint-Germain);

Forwards: Federico Bernardeschi (Fiorentina), Giacomo Bonaventura (Milan), Antonio Candreva (Lazio), Eder (Inter Milan), Stephan El Shaarawy (Roma), Ciro Immobile (Torino), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Graziano Pelle (Southampton), Simone Zaza (Juventus).