Home / National Teams / Spain


About Spain National Team

Spanish national football team have been present at the biggest since since the 1934 World Cup, but the team would often struggle to match the expectations at major tournaments despite having pretty strong squads most of the time. La Furia Roja did lift the European Championship title on home soil in 1968, but then embarked on a largely disappointing period that lasted some forty years. Nevertheless, Spain soccer team ended the long trophy drought in style, winning three successive titles at major tournaments.

La Furia Roja went on to win the gold medal at the Euro 2008, 2010 World Cup and Euro 2012, before their domination came to an abrupt end at the 2014 World Cup finals. Spain crashed out in the group stage in Brazil and that proved to be an end of a very successful era in national team history, with several experienced players retiring from international duty and leaving the country’s dreams in the hands of Koke, Sergio Ramos, Jordi Alba, David Silva and Sergio Busquets.

Important facts

Official website: http://www.sefutbol.com/
Nickname: La Furia Roja, La Furia, La Roja
FIFA membership: since 1904
Head coach: Vicente Del Bosque
Most capped player: Iker Casillas (166)
Top goalscorer: David Villa (59)
Trophies: World Cup (2010), Euro (1964, 2008, 2012)
World Cup best result: Champions (2010)

Latest squad (Italy, Romania friendlies):

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Porto), David De Gea (Manchester United), Sergio Rico (Sevilla);

Defenders: Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Mario Gaspar (Villarreal), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Marc Bartra (Barcelona), Nacho (Real Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea);

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Mikel San Jose (Athletic Bilbao), Sergi Roberto (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Cesc Fabregas (Chelsea), Thiago (Bayern Munich), Isco (Real Madrid), Nolito (Celta Vigo), Pedro (Chelsea), Juan Mata (Manchester United), David Silva (Manchester City);

Forwards: Aritz Aduriz (Athletic Bilbao), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Paco Alcacer (Valencia).