Home / National Teams / Mexico


About Mexico National Team

Mexico have long been regarded the leading side in the CONCACAF Confederation, lifting the Gold Cup trophy on nine occasions, but they have built quite a rivalry with the neighbouring United States soccer team of late. As of 1993, El Tri have also been taking part at the Copa America tournaments, finishing as runners up in 1993 and 2001, but they have never managed to get past the quarter-finals at the World Cup tournaments.

Despite showing a great deal of potential under Miguel Herrera, Mexico national team were eliminated in the World Cup Last 16 stage for the fifth consecutive time in Brazil, but they will have both Copa America and Gold Cup finals to try and improve on that result. The current side boast some very good players, such as Javier Hernandez, Giovani dos Santos and Carlos Vela, with a number of highly rated prospects coming through the ranks at the moment.

Important facts

Official website: http://www.femexfut.org.mx/portalv2/index.html
Nickname: El Tri, El Tricolor, La Verde
FIFA membership: since 1929
Head coach: Tuca Ferretti
Most capped player: Claudio Suarez (178)
Top goalscorer: Jared Borgetti (46)
Trophies: Gold Cup (1965, 1971, 1977, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2003, 2009, 2011, 2015),
World Cup best result: quarter-final (2 times)

Latest squad (2017 Confederations Cup play-off vs USA):

Goalkeepers – Guillermo Ochoa (Malaga/Spain); Moises Munoz (Club America/Mexico); Alfredo Talavera (Toluca/Mexico); Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey/Mexico);

Defenders: Paul Aguilar (Club America/Mexico); Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad/Spain); Rafael Marquez (Hellas Verona/Italy); Hector Moreno (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands); Miguel Layun (Porto/Portugal); Hector Herrera (Porto, Portugal); Oswaldo Alanis (Guadalajara/Mexico); Arturo Rivas (Tigres/Mexico); Miguel Herrera (Pachuca/Mexico); Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres/Mexico);

Midfielders: Israel Jimenez (Tigres/Mexico); Andres Guardado (PSV Eindhoven; Netherlands); Jose Juan Vazquez (Leon/Mexico); Jesus Duenas (Tigres/Mexico); Javier Aquino (Tigres/Mexico); Jonathan Dos Santos (Villarreal/ Spain); Luis Montes (Leon/Mexico); Carlos Pena (Leon/Mexico); Javier Guemez (Club America/Mexico);

Forwards: Oribe Peralta (Club America/Mexico); Raul Jimenez (Benfica/Portugal); Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad/Spain); Carlos Esquivel (Toluca/Mexico); Jesus Corona (Porto/Portugal); Javier Hernandez (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany); Elias Hernandez (Leon/Mexico); Jurgen Damm (Tigres/Mexico); Giovani Dos Santos (LA Galaxy/United States).