Home / National Teams / Turkey


About Germany National Team

Established in 1900, the German national football team have probably been the most consistent on international stage, seeing as they usually reach the final stages of major competitions. Die Mannschaft have four World Cup trophies to their name, with the last of those won in 2014 in Brazil, where Joachim Low’s side hammered hosts 7-1 in the semis before recording a hard-fought triumph over Argentina in the final.

Germany also won three gold medals at the European Championships and looking at their current side, their international domination could continue in years to come. Die Mannschaft can now rely on some of world’s leading footballers such as Marco Reus, Mesut Ozil, Thomas Muller and Mats Hummels, although they have seen quite a few star men retire after lifting the 2014 World Cup trophy in Brazil.

Important facts

Official website: http://www.dfb.de/die-mannschaft/team/
Nickname: Die Mannschaft, Nationalelf, DFB Elf
FIFA membership: since 1904
Head coach: Joachim Low
Most capped player: Lothar Matthaus (150)
Top goalscorer: Miroslav Klose (71)
Trophies: World Cup (1954, 1974, 1990, 2014), Euro (1972, 1980, 1996)
World Cup best result: Champions (4 times)

Latest squad (England, Italy friendlies):

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Paris Saint-Germain);

Defenders: Emre Can (Liverpool), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Shkodran Mustafi (Valencia), Antonio Rudiger (Roma), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen);

Midfielders: Karim Bellarabi (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Wolfsburg), Mario Gotze (Bayern Munich), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Christoph Kramer (Bayer Leverkusen), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Max Kruse (Wolfsburg), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Lukas Podolski (Galatasaray), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United);

Forwards: Mario Gomez (Besiktas Istanbul), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Andre Schurrle (Wolfsburg), Kevin Volland (Hoffenheim).