Home / National Teams / Argentina


About Argentina National Team

Just like their bitter rivals Brazil, Argentina national football team are widely considered to be world powerhouses, even if they probably did not win as many major trophies as they should have. La Albiceleste only twice went all the way at the World Cup tournaments, and have as many Copa America titles, albeit winning its predecessor South American Championship 12 times. But, having last won an important trophy in 1993, the new title is long overdue.

The current Argentina team is packed with world-class players such as Leo Messi, Kun Aguero and Angel Di Maria, but they missed a glorious opportunity to win the 2014 World Cup, eventually losing to Germany in the final. Led by former Barcelona coach Gerardo Martino, the Argentina soccer team will have two more chances to make things right while Messi is in his prime, with the 2015 Copa America and 2018 World Cup next on agenda.

Important facts

Official website: http://afa.org.ar/seleccion.php
Nickname: La Albiceleste
FIFA membership: since 1912
Head coach: Gerardo Martino
Most capped player: Javier Zanetti (145)
Top goalscorer: Gabriel Batistuta (56)
Trophies: World Cup (1978, 1986), Copa America (1991, 1993)
World Cup best result: Champions (2 times)

Latest squad (2018 WC qualifiers vs Chile, Bolivia):

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Man Utd), Nahuel Guzman (Tigres), Geronimo Rulli (Real Sociedad);

Defenders: Pablo Zabalate (Man City), Facundo Roncaglia (Fiorentina), Gabriel Mercado (River Plate), Nicolas Otamendi (Man City), Mateo Musacchio (Villarreal), Ramiro Funes Mori (Everton), Marcos Roco (Man Utd), Leonel Vangioni (River Plate), Javier Pinola (Rosario Central), Martin Demichelis (Man City);

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Matias Kranevitter (Atletico Madrid), Augusto Fernandez (Atletico Madrid), Enzo Perez (Valencia), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Javier Pastore (PSG), Ever Banega (Sevilla), Angel Di Maria (PSG), Erik Lamela (Tottenham);

Forwards: Ezequiel Lavezzi (Hebei), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Nicolas Gaitan (Benfica), Sergio Aguero (Man City), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Angel Correa (Atletico Madrid).