Home / Internationals / South America / Martino selects Argentina Copa America Centenario squad

Martino selects Argentina Copa America Centenario squad

Gerardo Martino has unveiled the Argentina squad for the 2016 Copa America Centenario tournament, surprisingly leaving out Paulo Dybala.

La Albiceleste head to the United States with championship ambitions and they will be vying the likes of Chile, Panama and Bolivia in Group D.

Tata Martino waited until the very last day to finalise his squad for the upcoming tournament and his selection has raised some eyebrows.

Boca Juniors star Carlos Tevez was not expected to be on the plane to the United States and he has been overlooked, but the former Barcelona boss also decided to leave Paulo Dybala out of the side.

The Juventus star has been in excellent form this season and many were surprised not to see his name on the final list.

Meanwhile, Ezequiel Lavezzi keeps his place despite moving to China, while Benfica winger Nicolas Gaitan is included as well.

The star-studded attack includes Leo Messi, Gonzalo Higuain, Sergio Aguero and Angel Di Maria among others, whereas Pablo Zabaleta, Javier Pinola and Leonel Vangioni are out injured.

It is for that reason that Independiente defender Victor Cuesta is in the squad despite not being named on the provisional roster.

Argentina Copa America squad:

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Manchester United), Nahuel Guzmán (Tigres), Mariano Andujar (Estudiantes);

Defenders: Facundo Roncaglia (Fiorentina), Marcos Rojo (Manchester United), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City), Ramiro Funes Mori (Everton), Gabriel Mercado (River), Jonatan Maidana (River), Victor Cuesta (Independiente);

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Augusto Fernández (Atlético Madrid), Matías Kranevitter (Atlético Madrid), Éver Banega (Sevilla), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Erik Lamela (Tottenham), Javier Pastore (Paris Saint Germain);

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuaín (Napoli), Sergio Agüero (Manchester City), Ángel Di María (Paris Saint Germain), Nicolás Gaitán (Benfica), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Hebei Fortune).

About IST staff

IST employs a team of writers with an extensive experience in the gaming industry, who are passionate about football and ready to go the extra mile to provide our readers with inside information on top football clubs, players and national teams. We always ensure to only use reputable sources and we hope you will enjoy the content on our site.

Check Also

Dudamel names Venezuela Copa America squad

Dudamel names Venezuela Copa America squad

Venezuela coach Rafael Dudamel has unveiled a 23-man squad for the 2016 Copa America Centenario ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *