Home / Internationals / Europe / O’Neil names Rep Ireland squad for Euro 2021 play-off vs Bosnia

O’Neil names Rep Ireland squad for Euro 2021 play-off vs Bosnia

Republic of Ireland manager Martin O’Neill has unveiled a provisional squad for Euro 2021 play-off matches vs Bosnia-Herzegovina.

The Irish will battle the former Yugoslav republic for a place at the tournament finals and they are 2.20 (6/5) with Coral to qualify.

Republic of Ireland play the first leg away on 13 November before the return match takes place at their Aviva Stadium in Dublin three days later.

Martin O’Neill has today announced his preliminary 39-player squad for the play-off matches, with injury doubts John O’Shea and Shane Long both included.

And while the Sunderland defender is banned for the first leg, a hamstring injury means he may miss the return match as well.

Meanwhile, Shane Long is recovering from an ankle injury and his club manager Ronald Koeman hinted the striker could play this weekend.

O’Neill has problems in the goalkeeping department with Shay Given, Darren Randolph and David Forde all unlikely to play in the next couple of weeks, and Kieran Westwood not at 100%.

Update (09.11): Shay Given, David McGoldrick, Greg Cunningham, Eunan O’Kane, Paul Green, Anthony Pilkington, Anthony Stokes, Adam Rooney and Simon Cox have been dropped from the provisional squad.

Republic of Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: David Forde (Millwall), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United);

Defenders: Richard Keogh (Derby County), Marc Wilson (Stoke City), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby County), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Blackburn Rovers), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Paul McShane (Reading), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Robbie Brady (Norwich City);

Midfielders: James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County), Darron Gibson (Everton), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Aiden McGeady (Everton), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Alan Judge (Brentford), David Meyler (Hull City), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City);

Forwards: Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids).

About IST staff

IST employs a team of writers with an extensive experience in the gaming industry, who are passionate about football and ready to go the extra mile to provide our readers with inside information on top football clubs, players and national teams. We always ensure to only use reputable sources and we hope you will enjoy the content on our site.

Check Also

Senegal want Pape Cheikh Diop to quit Spain national team

Senegal want Pape Cheikh Diop to quit Spain national team

Senegal national team bosses are set to try and persuade Celta Vigo midfielder Pape Cheikh ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>