Home / Internationals / CONCACAF / Klinsmann unveils USA Copa America Centenario squad

Klinsmann unveils USA Copa America Centenario squad

United States coach Jurgen Klinsmann has unveiled a 23-man squad that will participate at the historic 2016 Copa America Centenario.

The German tactician will count on 15 players who were part of the USA 2014 FIFA World Cup squad and a total of 18 footballers who have already represented the national team in the 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

The likes of Michael Bradley, Kyle Beckerman and Clint Dempsey all missed the friendly against Puerto Rico, but they were included in the USA Copa America squad.

Jozy Altidore’s injury seems to be the biggest blow for the USMNT and he will be sorely missed at the upcoming showpiece tournament.

Talented players John Brooks, Bobby Wood and DeAndre Yedlin made the squad as well and they are expected to shine at the 2016 Copa America.

“We feel that these 23 going into the very special Copa America, they really deserved to be there. “Obviously when you get down and you decide on the final 23-man roster, there are very close, tight decisions to make.

The moment when you decide, it’s about definitely who you feel the strongest about.”, said Jurgen Klinsmann.

USA kick off their Copa America campaign with star-studded Colombia on 3 June at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara. The Yanks will take on Paraguay and Costa Rica in Group A as well.

USA Copa America squad:

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Ethan Horvath (Molde IK);

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting KC), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur);

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Perry Kitchen (Heart of Midlothian), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), 19-Graham Zusi (Sporting KC);

Forwards: Bobby Wood (Hamburg), Chris Wondolowski (SJ Earthquakes), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC).

About IST Staff

IST employs a team of writers with an extensive experience in the gaming industry, who are passionate about football and ready to go the extra mile to provide our readers with inside information on top football clubs, players and national teams. We always ensure to only use reputable sources and we hope you will enjoy the content on our site.

Check Also

Cacic selects Croatia Euro 2021 squad

Cacic names Croatia Euro 2021 squad

Croatia coach Ante Cacic has named his 23-man squad for Euro 2021 finals, with talented ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *