Home / Internationals / Europe / Vrba selects Czech Republic Euro 2021 squad

Vrba selects Czech Republic Euro 2021 squad

Pavel Vrba has today announced a provisional Czech Republic squad for the Euro 2021 finals, containing a total of 28 players.

By the end of the week, the national team coach is expected to choose 23 players who will represent the country at the tournament finals.

Only one week ahead of the first warm-up game against Malta in Kufstein (Austria), Czech Republic head coach Pavel Vrba revealed his provisional 28-man list.

The inclusion of Bohemians 1905 forward Patrik Schick is perhaps the biggest surprise, while unfit Lukas Julis and Martin Frydek are droped. Ajax talent Vaclav Cerny has been overlooked as well.

Arsenal midfielder Tomas Rosicky is in the squad despite missing the entire season through injury, and he is expected to be fit for the showpiece tournament.

Pavel Vrba handed call-ups to Sparta Praga defender Ondrej Zahustel and his teammate Lukas Marecek. Midfielders Josef Sural and David Pavelka are included despite struggling through injury.

Czech Republic will play friendly games against Malta, Russia and South Korea ahead of the Euro 2021 and the boss has until May 31st to finalise his squad.

Cesky Tym have been placed in one of the toughest Euro 2021 groups, and they are set to face Spain, Croatia and Turkey in Group D.

Provisional Czech Republic Euro 2021 squad: 

Goalkeepers: Petr Čech (Arsenal), Tomáš Vaclík (FC Basel), Tomáš Koubek (Sparta);

Defenders: Pavel Kadeřábek (Hoffenheim), Theodor Gebre Selassie (Werder Bremen), Tomáš Sivok (Bursaspor), Michal Kadlec (Fenerbahce), Ondřej Zahustel (Sparta), Roman Hubník (Viktoria Plzeň), David Limberský (Viktoria Plzeň), Daniel Pudil (Sheffield Wednesday), Roman Hubník (Viktoria Plzeň);

Midfielders: Vladimír Darida (Hertha Berlin), Jaroslav Plašil (Bordeaux), David Pavelka (Kasimpasa), Jiří Skalák (Brighton), Ladislav Krejčí (Sparta), Bořek Dočkal (Sparta) Josef Šural (Sparta), Tomáš Rosický (Arsenal), Daniel Kolář (Viktoria Plzeň), Jan Kovařík (Viktoria Plzeň), Lukáš Mareček (Sparta);

Forwards: Tomáš Necid (Bursaspor), Matěj Vydra (Reading), David Lafata (Sparta), Patrik Schick (Bohemians), Milan Škoda (Slavia).

About IST staff

IST employs a team of writers with an extensive experience in the gaming industry, who are passionate about football and ready to go the extra mile to provide our readers with inside information on top football clubs, players and national teams. We always ensure to only use reputable sources and we hope you will enjoy the content on our site.

Check Also

Cacic selects Croatia Euro 2021 squad

Cacic names Croatia Euro 2021 squad

Croatia coach Ante Cacic has named his 23-man squad for Euro 2021 finals, with talented ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>