Home / Internationals / Europe / Coleman reveals provisional Wales Euro 2021 squad

Coleman reveals provisional Wales Euro 2021 squad

Wales national team boss Chris Coleman has unveiled a provisional 29-man squad for the Euro 2021 finals that will gather on 23 May.

The biggest news is the absence of Real Madrid star Gareth Bale, but the forward only misses out because he is set to play in the Champions League final and he will be added at a later date.

The Dragons secured their first ever qualification to the European Championship finals with some scintillating displays in the qualifiers and they have since been placed in a strong group alongside England, Russia and Slovakia.

There have been plenty of injury concerns for head coach Chris Coleman, but he hopes all his players will be fit for the tournament finals.

Real Madrid superstar Gareth Bale missed the weekend’s clash against Valencia through a knee problem, but he should be back to full fitness before the Champions League final on 28 May.

Joe Ledley, Danny Ward, David Vaughan and Adam Matthews have also experienced injury problems of late, but they were named on the provisional list.

Bristol City forward Wesley James Burns is the only uncapped footballer on the list, whereas Tom Bradshaw is another surprise inclusion.

Wales boss Chris Coleman will eventually cut his squad to 23 players ahead of the Euro 2021 and he is expected to announce his final squad on 31 May.

Wales provisional Euro 2021 squad:

Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace), Danny Ward (Liverpool), Owain Fon Williams (Tranmere Rovers);

Defenders: Ashley Williams (Swansea City), James Chester (Hull City), James Collins (West Ham United), Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur), Chris Gunter (Reading), Neil Taylor (Swansea City), Adam Henley (Blackburn Rovers), Ashley Richards (Fulham), Adam Matthews (Sunderland), Paul Dummet (Newcastle);

Midfielders: Andy King (Leicester City), Joe Ledley (Crystal Palace), Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal), Jonathan Williams (MK Dons), Joe Allen (Liverpool), David Edwards (Wolverhampton Wanderers), David Vaughan (Nottingham Forest), Emyr Huws (Wigan), George Williams (Gillingham);

Forwards: Hal Robson-Kanu (Reading), Sam Vokes (Burnley), Simon Church (Charlton Athletic), David Cotterill (Birmingham City), Tom Bradshaw (Walsall), Tom Lawrence (Leicester City), Wes Burns (Bristol City).

About IST staff

IST employs a team of writers with an extensive experience in the gaming industry, who are passionate about football and ready to go the extra mile to provide our readers with inside information on top football clubs, players and national teams. We always ensure to only use reputable sources and we hope you will enjoy the content on our site.

Check Also

O’Shea hands Republic of Ireland Euro 2021 boost

O’Shea hands Republic of Ireland Euro 2021 boost

Republic of Ireland captain John O’Shea has made it clear that he has fully recovered ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>