Thursday , August 16 2018
Home / Internationals / Europe / El Ghazi makes Netherlands squad for Kazakhstan, Czech Republic

El Ghazi makes Netherlands squad for Kazakhstan, Czech Republic

El Ghazi makes Netherlands squad for Kazakhstan, Czech Republic Ajax winger Anwar El Ghazi has been named in Danny Blind’s provisional Netherlands squad for Euro 2016 qualifiers vs Kazakhstan and Czech Republic.

Oranje are in all sorts of problems ahead of the final two qualifiers as they trail third-placed Turkey by two points after a 3-0 defeat in Konya.

This means that Netherlands need to win their remaining two matches in order to keep their qualifying hopes alive and they can be backed at 1.22 (2/9) to defeat Kazakhstan on 10 October.

Oranje coach Danny Blind has announced a 28-man provisional squad for October qualifiers, with Ajax starlet Anwar El Ghazi in line to make his debut after choosing Netherlands over Morocco.

Feyenoord defender Rick Karsdorp is the second newcomer on the roster, while Arjen Robben and Stefan de Vrij are out injured.

Newcastle full-back Daryl Janmaat (26/0) returns after missing the September matches, with his teammates Tim Krul, Vurnon Anita and Georginio Wijnaldum included as well.

Netherlands squad:

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax Amsterdam), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Kenneth Vermeer (Feyenoord), Jeroen Zoet (PSV Eindhoven);

Defenders: Daley Blind (Manchester United), Jeffrey Bruma (PSV Eindhoven), Daryl Janmaat (Newcastle United), Rick Karsdorp, Terence Kongolo (both Feyenoord), Karim Rekik (Olympique Marseille), Jairo Riedewald, Kenny Tete (both Ajax Amsterdam), Virgil van Dijk (Glasgow Celtic), Joel Veltman (Ajax Amsterdam);

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (Stoke City), Vurnon Anita (Newcastle United), Davy Klaassen (Ajax Amsterdam), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Georginio Wijnaldum (Newcastle United);

Forwards: Luuk de Jong (PSV Eindhoven), Memphis Depay (Manchester United), Bas Dost (VfL Wolfsburg), Anwar El Ghazi (Ajax Amsterdam), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04), Jeremain Lens (Sunderland), Luciano Narsingh (PSV Eindhoven), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Robin van Persie (Fenerbahce).

About IST staff

IST employs a team of writers with an extensive experience in the gaming industry, who are passionate about football and ready to go the extra mile to provide our readers with inside information on top football clubs, players and national teams. We always ensure to only use reputable sources and we hope you will enjoy the content on our site.

Check Also

Cacic selects Croatia Euro 2016 squad

Cacic names Croatia Euro 2016 squad

Croatia coach Ante Cacic has named his 23-man squad for Euro 2016 finals, with talented ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *