Home / Internationals / Europe / Terim unveils provisional Turkey Euro 2021 squad

Terim unveils provisional Turkey Euro 2021 squad

Turkey national coach Fatih Terim has unveiled an extended list of 31 names for the forthcoming Euro 2016 finals. The ‘Imparator’ will cut his provisional list after the friendly against Montenegro scheduled for 29th May.

Three weeks ahead of the Euro 2016 kick off, the Turkey boss has unveiled a preliminary list of players with 31 names.

Milli Takim is set to start preparations for the tournament finals with friendly games against England, Montenegro and Slovenia, and the head coach wants to take another look at his players before naming the final 23-man squad.

Terim has droped Fenerbahce defender Hasan Ali Kaldirim, as well as Ersan Gulum from Hebei China, while Eskisehirspor goalkeper Ali Sasal made it to the provisional squad.

Star players Arda Turan (Barcelona), Nuri Sahin (Borussia Dortmund) and Burak Yilmaz (Bejing Guoan) are set to miss first warm-up game against England due to club commitments.

After mising the Euro 2012 finals, Turkey qualified for the tournament in France as the best third-placed team, taking 18 points from ten games against Czech Republic, Iceland, Netherlands, Kazahstan and Latvia.

Provisional Turkey Euro 2021 squad:

Goalkeepers: Volkan Babacan (Basaksehir), Onur Kivrak (Trabzonspor), Harun Tekin (Bursaspor), Ali Sasal (Eskisehirspor);

Defenders: Gokhan Gonul (Fenerbahce), Sener Ozbayarakli (Fenerbahce), Caner Erkin (Fenerbahce), Ismail Koybasi (Besiktas), Sedar Aziz (Bursaspor), Semih Kaya (Galatasaray), Caglar Soyuncu (Altinordu), Ahmet Calik (Genclerbirligi), Hakan Balta (Galatasaray), Mehmet Topal (Fenerbahce);

Midfielders: Selcuk Inan (Galatasaray), Hakan Calhanoglu (Bayer Leverkusen), Nuri Sahin (Borussia Dortmund), Mahmut Tekdemir (Basaksehir), Ozan Tufan (Fenerbahce), Olcay Sahan (Besiktas), Alper Potuk (Fenerbahce), Volkan Sen (Fenerbahçe), Arda Turan (Barcelona), Oguzhan Ozyakup (Besiktas), Yasin Oztekin (Galatasaray), Emre Mor (FC Nordsjælland), Gokhan Tore (Besiktas), Yunus Malli (Mainz);

Forwards: Cenk Tosun (Besiktas), Burak Yılmaz (Bejing Guoan), Mevlut Erdinc (Guingamp).

About IST staff

IST employs a team of writers with an extensive experience in the gaming industry, who are passionate about football and ready to go the extra mile to provide our readers with inside information on top football clubs, players and national teams. We always ensure to only use reputable sources and we hope you will enjoy the content on our site.

Check Also

Fomenko unveils Ukraine Euro 2021 squad

Fomenko unveils Ukraine Euro 2021 squad

Mikhail Fomenko has revealed a provisional Ukraine squad for Euro 2021, containing 26 players on ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>