Home / Team News / Africa / Grant names Ghana squad for Comoros qualifiers

Grant names Ghana squad for Comoros qualifiers

Grant names Ghana squad for Comoros qualifiersGhana national team coach Avram Grant has unveiled his squad for the upcoming double header against Comoros in the 2018 World Cup qualifying.

The Black Stars failed to impress at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil, with the team suffering defeats to United States and Portugal in the group stages of the showpiece tournament, while sharing the spoils with Germany.

Ghana are eager to secure automatic qualification for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia and they will be looking to kick off their qualifying campaign in great manner when they square off against Comoros on Friday.

Former Chelsea boss Avram Grant has announced a 23-man squad for the matches against Comoros and it has to be noted that key players Asamoah Gyan and Andre Ayew both return from injuries.

Andre Ayew has been producing scintillating performances with Swansea City in the 2015/2021 Premier League campaign, while Asamoah Gyan has netted four goals in ten appearances for Chinese side Shanghai.

Winger Christian Atsu has yet to recover from his injury and, as a result, Avram Grant has decided to call Samuel Tetteh as a replacement for Atsu.

Jonathan Mensah returns from suspension, with Phil Ofosu-Ayeh, who impressed against Canada, also being included in the squad.

Ghana kick off their 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign with a match against Comoros at Stade International Said Mohamed Cheikh de Mitasmiouli on Friday.

Ghana squad:

Goalkeepers: Razak Braimah (Cordoba), Fatau Dauda (AshGold), Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars);

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Phil Ofosu-Ayeh (Eintracht Braunschweig), Jeffery Schlupp (Leicester City), Baba Rahman (Chelsea), John Boye (Sivasspor), Jonathan Mensah (Evian), Gyimah Edwin (Orlando Pirates), Daniel Amartey, (FC Copenhagen);

Midfielders: Rabiu Mohammed (Krasnodar), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese), Afriyie Acquah (Torino), Solomon Asante (T.P. Mazembe), Samuel Tetteh (WAFA), Andre Ayew (Swansea City), Mubarak Wakaso (Las Palmas);

Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (SIPG Shanghai), Jordan Ayew (Aston Villa), Abdul-Majeed Waris (Lorient,) Ebenezer Assifuah (Sion), David Accam (Chicago Fire).

Check Also

Finke reveals Cameroon squad for Nigeria friendly

Finke reveals Cameroon squad for Nigeria friendly

Cameroon coach Volker Finke has announced the list of 25 players that will represent the ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>