Friday , July 20 2018
Home / Internationals / Europe / Wilmots names final Belgium Euro 2016 squad

Wilmots names final Belgium Euro 2016 squad

Marc Wilmots has announced his 24-man Belgium Euro 2016 squad, while also naming seven players on the reserve list, meaning one player will be cut from the squad before the tournament.

The Red Devils qualified for the tournament finals by winning the first place in their group and they have big ambitions for the Euro 2016.

Belgium will be facing the likes of Italy, Sweden and Republic of Ireland in Group E, meaning a strong start is a must if they are to realise their objectives.

National team coach Marc Wilmots has now revealed his squad, containing 24 players, with another 7 footballers added on the reserve list.

Captain Vincent Kompany misses out as he suffered a difficult thigh injury in the closing stage of the season, and no doubts that will be a huge blow for the Red Devils.

Thomas Meunier, Jordan Lukaku and Bjorn Engels are the surprise inclusions, whereas Nacer Chadli and Kevin Mirallas are some of the players on the reserve list.

Belgium Euro 2016 squad:

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Jean-Francois Gillet (Mechelen);

Defenders: Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Jason Denayer (Manchester City), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona), Bjorn Engels (Club Brugge), Jordan Lukaku (Oostende), Thomas Meunier (Club Brugge);

Midfielders: Axel Witsel (Zenit), Kevin De Bruyne (Wolfsburg), Moussa Dembele (Tottenham), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Radja Nainggolan (Roma), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Yannick Ferreira-Carrasco (Atletico Madrid);

Forwards: Christian Benteke (Liverpool), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Michy Batshuayi (Marseille), Divock Origi (Liverpool).

Reserves: Nacer Chadli (Tottenham), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Guillaume Gillet (Nantes), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia M’gladbach), Kevin Mirallas (Everton), Matz Sels (Gent), Laurens De Bock (Club Brugge)

About IST staff

IST employs a team of writers with an extensive experience in the gaming industry, who are passionate about football and ready to go the extra mile to provide our readers with inside information on top football clubs, players and national teams. We always ensure to only use reputable sources and we hope you will enjoy the content on our site.

Check Also

Cacic selects Croatia Euro 2016 squad

Cacic names Croatia Euro 2016 squad

Croatia coach Ante Cacic has named his 23-man squad for Euro 2016 finals, with talented ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *